Scarlett Johansson’s Pain

How many of you shared the winsome Scarlett Johansson’s pain in the movie Vicky Cristina Barcelona when she declared, “No. I just have to come face to face with the fact that I am not gifted, you know? I can appreciate art and I love music, but… It’s sad, really, because I feel like I have a lot to express and I am not gifted.”

That’s me, and I bet that’s you too – the little Mozart or Michelangelo in you that just begs to have the genius to express. I bet too, the Cro-Magnon artist(s?) who drew the Chavuvet cave art 30,000 years ago had a nearby friend admiring his buddies’ soaring talents and felt Scarlett Johansson’s pain. I was in the British Museum two years ago and I have to catch my breath many times as I gazed upon many of the works of long-dead artists. Can you imagine if only music sheets were invented during the Old Kingdom of Egypt? We could be playing and enjoying to really ancient music instead of just baroque and classical sonatas or concertos.

I am tagging these types of posts as Scarlett Johansson’s pain so keep posted.

Leave a Reply

