Platypus in Papar?

Never got around to asking my scientist friends about this one but there may be a Platypus in Papar! Platypus is one of five extant species of Monotremes, the only mammals that lay eggs instead of giving birth to live young, making them an ancient clade. Monotremes are indigenous only to Australia and New Guinea. So far…

Last Chinese New Year I had this conversation with my Papar uncle:


Uncle: 3 years ago I saw an animal the size of a large cat in my pond. It had a duckbill instead of a snout.
My scientific antennae went up to DEF-CON 1.


Me: Are you sure it’s not a Bongngol (otter)?

Uncle: No, I had seen many otters in my fish ponds before. This one had a mouth shaped like a duck’s.

Me: Did it have web feet?

Uncle: Yes. It was puttering around in the pond like an otter looking for fish.

Me: Did it have fur?

Uncle: Yes.

Me: You did not try to capture it?

Uncle: Couldn’t…

I forgot to ask him though whether the animal had legs that got claws.

So, any one of you who is scientifically-inclined, or want to steal a little bit of thunder from the Aussies for having the most ancient of extant mammals, call me. We could be famous together. You may want to call this new Platypus, Ornithorhynchus galidi.

Leave a Reply

